Nominations Are Open For NAACP Centennial Year Spingarn Awardee

The NAACP is soliciting nominations for the 94th Spingarn Medal. The Spingarn Medal, instituted in 1914 by the late J.E. Spingarn, then NAACP Chairman, is awarded for the highest or noblest achievement by an American of African descent during the preceding year or years. 

The purpose of the medal is to call attention to distinguished merit and achievement among Americans of African descent, serve as a reward for such achievement and stimulate the ambition of youth of African descent. 

All nominations for the 94th Spingarn Medal must be submitted, in writing, on or before December 31, 2008. To be considered, submissions must be postmarked no later than December 31, 2008. 

Nominations must include a detailed, current biographical profile.of the nominee, highlighting relevant activities and achievements. Supporting and verifying documents such as news clippings, honors received, etc. should also be attached. This information should be clearly typewritten or printed, as it must be reproduced. 

The final selection of the medalist is made by the Spingarn Medal Award Committee and the Association's Board of Directors. The Committee's decision is final in all matters affecting the award. 

To date, 93 Spingarn Medals have been awarded, recognizing achievements in a range of fields. Recent medalists include Dr. Benjamin S. Carson, U.S. Rep. John Conyers (D-MI), former U.S. Secretary of State Colin L. Powell, Oprah Winfrey, Vernon Jordan, U.S. Rep. John Lewis (D-GA), William H. Cosby, Jr., Maya Angelou, Virginia Governor L. Douglas Wilder, Rev. Jesse Jackson, Percy E. Sutton, the late Gordon Parks, John Hope Franklin, the late Judge A. Leon Higginbotham Jr., the late Carl Rowan, NAACP Chair Emeritus Myrlie Evers-Williams, businessman and publisher Earl G. Graves, Sr., the late Judge Constance Baker Motley, Judge Robert L. Carter, the late Oliver W. Hill, Sr.

Nominations should be addressed to: The Spingarn Medal Award Committee, Attention: Office of the Chairman, 4805 Mount Hope Drive, Baltimore, MD 21215. 


Founded in 1909, the NAACP is the nation's oldest and largest civil rights organization. The NAACP will celebrate its centennial Feb. 12, 2009. Festivities planned for the NAACP centennial year include televised specials highlighting the most influential films, music and people from 1909-2009, a commemorative music CD and a photo book. Details about these and other projects will be announced by the NAACP in the coming months.

NAACP members throughout the United States and the world are the premier advocates for civil rights in their communities, conducting voter mobilization and monitoring equal opportunity in the public and private sectors.


< View All Press Releases